Why *BBC* Dimensions?

I can’t really win no matter how I phrase this post, but I’ll start with the fact that I am a happy Licence Fee payer and that, if that fee doubled, I’d still consider it good value for money.

The BBC being such a large organisation, it’s inevitable that I won’t like or agree with everything it chooses to undertake. One such example is BBC Dimensions.

From its about page:

Dimensions is an experimental prototype for the BBC. We want to bring home the human scale of events and places in history… Dimensions is part of the BBC’s continual experimentation in trying to find new ways to communicate history.

Which is all very sensible. Still, I don’t know why it’s the BBC who built it.
(And that URL! How Big Really – as if something is only really as big as people say it is if you have something you understand it in terms of. I understand the point, but it still grates a bit. Maybe I’m just getting old.)</p.

Published by

rich_w

Man of letters & numbers; also occasionally of action. Husband to NTW. Dad of three. Friendly geek.

3 thoughts on “Why *BBC* Dimensions?”

  1. Seriously Rich??? Why not the BBC? The Beeb is THE most brilliant and diverse broadcaster in the world. I loved this when I saw it last week.
    Why should the BBC not use the experience, talent and most importantly the knowledge that comes from investment in all that it does – news, documentary, technology web related etc etc? The corporation has used the knowledge, information and stats that it has to present information in such a good and innovative way. Which other organisation is better placed to do it?
    The BBC has always been at the forefront of using technology – iplayer, listen again on radio etc. this is another way of harnessing technology to present information and it’s in the public interest to make facts more accessible to “normal” people to relate to.
    NB I do however agree with you about the URL!!

  2. I agree with you, Rich. I think it’s a beautiful and interesting project, but I am struggling to see how it’s directly related to the BBC’s remit.

  3. I wouldnt say a project like this is how the BBC ‘delivers’ its service within the defined remit of being a public service broadcaster, but I do think its a way of ‘adding value’ to the work it does. The BBC *has* all this information – so why not invest a bit to present it in this innovative way?

Leave a Reply

