YouTune no.35: Feel Good Hit Of The Summer

This week’s YouTune brings back heady memories of my first year at university. I was in charge of ‘bar entertainment’ (y’know, quizzes and stuff) and used this role – a sinecure position if ever there was one – as an opportunity to mercilessly inflict my musical tastes upon others. Much like YouTune, really.

So, with a shitty CD player hooked up to a substantial PA system, I systematically cleared the bar, week after week. But I was happy. And this, from Queens of the Stone Age’s second album Rated R, was a permanent fixture. I think as well as simply loving the noise, I fantasised that maybe, one day, I’d be let into the secret club of cool kids who indulged in nicotine, valium, vicodin, marijuana, ecstasy and alcohol (cocaine, even), and that playing a cool song might be my passport. Needless to say, this never happened.

So much for the official music video: if you really want to rock out with your cock out, check this live version, which is brutal. And sweary. And features a half-naked man with a goatee doing the most terrifying ‘backing vocals’ ever known in the civilised world.

Leave a Reply

