The hierarchy of disagreements

I noted the other day the hierarchy of disagreements, as follows:

DH0: Name-calling
DH1: Ad Hominem
DH2: Responding to tone
DH3: Contradiction
DH4 Counterargument
DH5: Refutation
DH6: Refuting the central point

It being in my nature to do so, I offer a theory: Anyone who understands this hierarchy typically engages in DH4-DH6 in their disagreements.

And here’s a corollary: Anyone who cannot even identify the central point of an argument typically engages at level DH1-DH3 in their disagreements.


Published by


Man of letters & numbers; also occasionally of action. Husband to NTW. Dad of three. Friendly geek.

2 thoughts on “The hierarchy of disagreements”

Comments are closed.